Jury composition 2017-11-03T13:10:13+00:00

Jury composition

Nathalie Crutzen

Nathalie Crutzen (PhD) is Associate Professor and the Founder of the Smart City Institute at HEC Liège (University of Liege, Belgium). She is responsible for academic activities (ie. scientific research, academic teaching, supervision of Master and PhD theses & various services) in the field of strategy, innovation, sustainability and Smart Cities.

The Smart City Institute (SCI) aims at stimulating research, teaching, innovation and entrepreneurship in the field of the “smart city”, i.e. the transition of cities/territories towards sustainability (economic, ecological & social aspects) using technologies as enabler. The SCI proposes to approach this thematic from a managerial angle (not a technical one) while collaborating with other disciplines (economy, geography, architecture, computer & environmental sciences, etc.). It is founded on an original partnership between private companies (Accenture, Belfius, Proximus & Schréder), public actors (Walloon Region & Digital Wallonia) and a University and its Management School (HEC Liege). This academic institute aims at stimulating research, teaching, innovation and entrepreneurship in the field of the “smart city”.

For more details: www.smartcityinstitute.be

Damien Ernst

Damien Ernst is a professor at the University of Liège (Belgium). He does research in the field of artificial intelligence and energy systems. He is the author of more than 250 scientific articles and two books. He has received numerous scientific awards for his research and is regularly consulted by the industry, governments, international agencies and the media for his exceptional understanding of the energy transition.

Grégoire Dallemagne

Grégoire Dallemagne is born on 19 December 1972, Grégoire Dallemagne obtained his commercial engineering degree from Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL) and supplemented this with an MBA from the University of Chicago.

He started his career at Arthur Andersen as an auditor. In 2000 he began working in the telecom sector. He joined the international Tele2 group, where he held various executive positions in Sweden and Luxembourg. From 2003 to 2007 he worked as managing director of Tele2 – Versatel Belgium. After the takeover of the company by KPN, he became managing director of KPN Belgium and member of the management committee of KPN International.

From 2008 to 2011, Grégoire Dallemagne was executive vice-president Strategy and member of the management committee of Belgacom. As Chief Executive Officer, he has been at the helm of EDF Luminus since September 2011.

Frédéric Vasseur

Frédéric Vasseur is the 49-year-old Frenchman is without doubt a well-known figure in motorsport paddocks around the globe – and his success in managing teams in various Formula-Series speaks for itself. As the founder of ART Grand Prix and ASM, Vasseur has celebrated outstanding accomplishments with the two teams and a broad selection of talented drivers over the past years, including 8 GP2 Series titles, 9 GP3 Series titles, and 12 F3 Euro Series titles. Three of the most celebrated Formula 1 World Champions – Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, and Nico Rosberg – were among the many drivers who were part of Vasseur’s talent pool in their early days.

Motorsport roots

After earning a degree in Aeronautical Techniques and Automotive Engineering at ESTACA in 1996, Vasseur founded his first racing team, ASM, which entered the Formula 3 Championship that same year, together with Renault. With the first championship title in his pocket, Vasseur entered a partnership agreement with Mercedes.

In 2003, ASM entered the Formula 3 Euro Series. Between 2004 and 2009, the team won the championship year after year, including wins at prestigious races such as the Masters of Zandvoort and the Macao Grand Prix.

Where stars were born

Numerous drivers have made their way to the top of motorsport under Vasseur’s watchful eye in the Formula 3 Euro Series: these include Lewis Hamilton, Romain Grosjean, Jules Bianchi, Paul Di Resta, and Jamie Green, to name a few.

In 2004, Vasseur continued his journey towards the peak of international motorsport. He founded ART Grand Prix, and introduced the team into the GP2 Series a year later. Since then, a total of 8 GP2 Series championship titles, 4 team and 4 driver titles – Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Nico Hülkenberg, and Stoffel Vandoorne – were won by the team. Other accomplishments include GP3 Series titles, won by Esteban Gutierrez (2010), Valtteri Bottas (2011), Esteban Ocon (2015) and Charles Leclerc (2016).

Formula E meets Formula 1

With vast experience in motor racing, Vasseur founded Spark Racing Technology (SRT) in 2012, which develops hybrid and electric powertrains. In 2014, Formula E – a FIA racing championship featuring electric-powered cars competing in the world’s biggest cities – was born. Spark Racing Technology was contracted to construct 40 single-seaters (Spark-Renault SRT_01E) for Formula E Holdings (FEH).

In 2016, Vasseur made his first step into Formula 1, becoming Team Principal of the newly founded Renault Sport Formula One Team. In 2017, Frédéric Vasseur was named as the new Managing Director and CEO of Sauber Motorsport, and Team Principal of the Sauber F1 Team.

Bernard Delvaux

Bernard Delvaux began his career as engineer in 1989 at Cokerill-Sambre. He then worked as a consultant at McKinsey from 1994 to 1998.

In 1998, he joined Belgacom, where he set up the major transformation PTS and BeST plans and held the position of Executive Vice-President in charge of the operational activities of all fixed and internet networks.

In 2004, he chose a new challenge as a member of the Executive Committee of La Poste, in charge of national mail and package distribution operations (georoute, new sorting centers …).

Since October 2008, he is CEO of the SONACA Group, an international industrial group (Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, USA …) active in aeronautics and aerospace structures (customers: Airbus, Embraer, Bombardier, Dassault, Astrium…).

Laurent Weerts

Laurent Weerts is a Partner at Deloitte and auditor.

Graduated from the HEC-University of Liège, he began his career at Deloitte 27 years ago.

He is also visiting professor at HEC-University of Liège, Chairman of the HEC Group and member of the Board.

He is President of the LJE ASBL, best known for Mini-Enterprises.

For several years, Laurent Weerts was a member of the jury of the “Enterprize” competition, which aimed to reward the best projects of companies in creation and companies with less than 5 years of existence.

He also participated in several think-tanks on the future development of Wallonia and the spirit of entrepreneurship.

Joan Condijts

After writing his first article in Le Monde in 1997, earned a degree in journalism from the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) and a postgraduate degree in European relations from the University of Strasbourg, Joan Condijts started his career as journalist at the newspaper Le Soir. From 2008 to 2011, he managed the economic department. In 2013, at 37, he became editor-in-chief of the economic newspaper L’Echo. He co-wrote with Feryel Gadhoum, GDF-Suez, le dossier de la fusion (Michalon), published in 2008, and, together with Paul Gérard and Pierre-Henri Thomas, La Chute de la Maison Fortis (Lattès) in 2009. In 2014, he published his first novel, L’homme qui ne voulait plus être roi (Genèse édition).